Book Review: Don’t Settle for Safe: Embracing the Uncomfortable to Become Unstoppable, by Sarah Jakes Roberts

Please note, this book was a provided review copy provided by Book look bloggers; all opinions are my own. Thank you.

Don't Settle for Safe: Embracing the Uncomfortable to Become Unstoppable by [Roberts, Sarah Jakes]

Hello again, everyone. Today finds us with a new book review and this time it’s Don’t Settle for Safe: Embracing the Uncomfortable to Become Unstoppable, by Sarah Jakes Roberts.

This book brought to readers by the speaker and author Sarah Jakes Roberts, that shows women to not define their lives by past pain and failures and offers encouragement and strength to believe God’s best is still possible for all women.

Everyone has experiences in their lives that stop them in their tracks. No one knows this better than Sarah Jakes Roberts. Pregnant at fourteen, married by nineteen, divorced by twenty-two, and all while under the intense spotlight of being Bishop T.D. Jakes’s daughter, Sarah knows what it is to feel buried by failure and aching pain.

But when her journey brought her to faith, Sarah found she had to choose between staying in the comfort of the pain she knew or daring to make new wounds and move forward. Now Sarah shares the numerous life lessons she’s learned along the way with other women also struggling to believe they’re not disqualified by their pain and past mistakes.

To find out more about this book, click here.

Enjoy,

Nicole

Book Review: 10 Things I Can See From Here, by Carrie Mac

Please note, this book was a provided review copy provided by Blogging for Books; all opinions are my own. Thank you.

 

10 Things I Can See From Here by [Mac, Carrie]

 

Hello again, everyone. Today finds us with a new book review and this time it’s 10 Things I Can See From Here, by Carrie Mac. 

Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella’s Finding Audrey and Nicola Yoon’s Everything, Everything, this is the poignant and uplifting story of Maeve, who is dealing with anxiety while falling in love with a girl who is not afraid of anything.

Maeve has heard it all before. She’s been struggling with severe anxiety for a long time, and as much as she wishes it was something she could just talk herself out of, it’s not. She constantly imagines the worst, composes obituaries in her head, and is always ready for things to fall apart. To add to her troubles, her mom—the only one who really gets what Maeve goes through—is leaving for six months so Maeve will be sent to live with her dad in Vancouver.

Vancouver brings a slew of new worries, but Maeve finds brief moments of calm with Salix, a local girl who doesn’t seem to worry about anything. Will she be able to navigate through all the chaos to be there for the people she loves? You’ll have to read the book to find out!

To find out more about this book, click here.

Enjoy,

Nicole

Book Review: Tuesdays with Morrie: An Old Man, a Young Man, and Life’s Greatest Lesson by Mitch Albom

Please note, this book was a provided review copy provided by Blogging for Books; all opinions are my own. Thank you.

 

Tuesdays with Morrie: An Old Man, a Young Man, and Life's Greatest Lesson by [Albom, Mitch]

 

Hello again, everyone. Today finds us with a new book review and this time it’s the 20th-anniversary edition of the bestselling Tuesdays with Morrie: An Old Man, a Young Man, and Life’s Greatest Lesson by Mitch Albom. 

Maybe it was a grandparent, or a teacher, or a colleague. Someone older, patient and wise, who understood you when you were young and searching, helped you see the world as a more profound place. Or maybe they instilled in you peacefulness by way of their homespun advice and wisdom.

For Mitch Albom, that person was Morrie Schwartz, his college professor from nearly twenty years ago. Maybe, like Mitch, you lost track of this mentor as you made your way, and the insights faded, and the world seemed colder. Wouldn’t you like to see that person again, ask the bigger questions that still haunt you, receive wisdom for your busy life today the way you once did when you were younger?

Mitch Albom had that second chance. He reconnected with Morrie in the last months of the older man’s life. Knowing he was dying, Morrie visited with Mitch in his study every Tuesday, just as they used to back in college. Their rekindled relationship turned into one final “class:” lessons in how to live.

Tuesdays with Morrie chronicles their time together, through which Mitch shares Morrie’s lasting gift with the world. This book was very meaningful to me as I previously read it while in my mid-twenties as a caretaker to my grandmother, a dementia patient.

This book is a must-read no matter what walk of life you come from.

To find out more about this book, click here.

Enjoy,

Nicole

Book Review: Radical Spirit: 12 Ways to Live a Free and Authentic Life, by Joan Chittister

Please note, this book was a provided review copy provided by Blogging for Books; all opinions are my own. Thank you.

Radical Spirit: 12 Ways to Live a Free and Authentic Life by [Chittister, Joan]

Hello again, everyone. Today finds us with a new book review and this time its Radical Spirit: 12 Ways to Live a Free and Authentic Life, by Joan Chittister. 

Are you feeling burnt-out from life, strung-out from social media, and put out by a society that always wants more from you? Beloved nun and social activist Joan Chittister, who appeared on Oprah’s Super Soul Sunday, offers a practical, character-building guide to help you take control of your emotional life and redirect your spiritual destiny.

Drawing on little-known, ancient teachings of the saints, Sister Joan offers a practical program to help transform our thinking and rebel against our fears, judgments, and insecurities.

With a series of twelve simple rules for healthy spiritual living, Chittister not only reminds us but pleads with us, to develop not just coping methods but life=affirming values that shift our attention away from worldliness to how God wants us to live.

To find out more aBout this book, click here.

Enjoy,

Nicole

Book Review: This Is Your Brain on Sports: The Science of Underdogs, the Value of Rivalry, and What We Can Learn from the T-Shirt Cannon, by L. Jon Wertheim and Sam Sommers

This Is Your Brain on Sports: The Science of Underdogs, the Value of Rivalry, and What We Can Learn from the T-Shirt Cannon by [Wertheim, L. Jon, Sommers, Sam]

 

Hello again, everyone. Today finds us with a new book review and this time its This Is Your Brain on Sports: The Science of Underdogs, the Value of Rivalry, and What We Can Learn from the T-Shirt Cannon, by L. Jon Wertheim and Sam Sommers. 

This is Your Brain on Sports is the book for sports fans, and they’re loved ones, searching for a deeper understanding of the games they watch and the people who play them.  Sports Illustrated executive editor and bestselling author L. Jon Wertheim teams up with Tufts psychologist Sam Sommers to take readers on a wild ride into the inner world of sports and their enthusiast’s ride-or-die drive for the sporting world.  Through the prism of behavioral economics, neuroscience, and psychology, they reveal the hidden influences and surprising

Through the prism of behavioral economics, neuroscience, and psychology, they reveal the hidden influences and surprising clues that inspire and derail us—on the field and in the stands—and by extension, in corporate board rooms, office settings, and our daily lives. As well as how the decisions of unions and guilds help to shape our fall afternoons.

In short, this book is a thought-provoking journey into how psychology and behavioral science collide with the universe of underdogs and rivalry games.

To find out more about this book, click here.

Enjoy,

Nicole

 

Please note, this book was a provided review copy provided by Blogging for Books; all opinions are my own. Thank you.

Book Review: We the People: The Modern-Day Figures Who Have Reshaped and Affirmed the Founding Fathers’ Vision of America, by Juan Williams

Disclosure: This book was received as a free advanced copy from Blogging for Books; all opinions are my own. Thank you.

 

We the People: The Modern-Day Figures Who Have Reshaped and Affirmed the Founding Fathers' Vision of America by [Williams, Juan]

 

Hello again, everyone! tonight finds us with a new book review and this time its We the People: The Modern-Day Figures Who Have Reshaped and Affirmed the Founding Fathers’ Vision of America, by Juan Williams.

This work features the series of in-depth profiles, a prize-winning journalist, bestselling author, and Fox political analyst Juan Williams takes readers into the life and work of a new generation of American Founders. Even as they have quietly led revolutions in American politics, immigration, and economics.

Among the modern-day pioneers Williams writes about President Reagan; the determined fighters for equal rights, Thurgood Marshall and Martin Luther King, Jr.; the profound imprint of Rev. Billy Graham’s evangelism on national politics; the focus on global human rights advocated by First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt; the leaders of the gay community who refused to back down during the Stonewall Riots and the role of women in contemporary life as shaped by Betty Friedan.

This book is a must-read this season.

To find out more about this book, click here.

Enjoy,

Nicole

 

Book Review: Vibrant India: Fresh Vegetarian Recipes from Bangalore to Brooklyn, by Chitra Agrawal

Disclosure: This book was received as a free advanced copy from Blogging for Books; all opinions are my own. Thank you.

 

Vibrant India: Fresh Vegetarian Recipes from Bangalore to Brooklyn by [Agrawal, Chitra]

Hello again, everyone! Today finds us with a new book review and this time it’s Vibrant India: Fresh Vegetarian Recipes from Bangalore to Brooklyn, by Chitra Agrawal. 

This edition features everything from the classic savory crepe dosa, filled with lemony turmeric potatoes and cilantro coconut chutney, to new creations like coconut polenta topped with spring vegetables ‘upma” and homemade yogurt, the recipes in Vibrant India are simple to prepare and are just as beautiful on the plate.

This practical guide will help make any garden more productive and enjoyable with a variety of projects using unexpected and often common garden plants.

Discover the surprising usefulness of petals and leaves, roots, seeds, and fruit. From vegan to utilitarian, there is something in Vibrant India for everyone.

To find out more about this book, click here.

Enjoy,

Nicole