Book Review: Martha Stewart’s Appetizers: A Cookbook Review

Hello again, savvy savers! Tonight finds us a new book review, and this time its Martha Stewart’s Appetizers.  This volume features both traditional favorites, as well as modern takes on classic canapes, pass-around bites for parties and home dining options alike.

Appetizers has many recipes I would never expect to find in a Martha Stewart cookbook.  There are cheese balls, deviled eggs, popcorn, and fried macaroni and cheese bites just to name a few – definitely not the high brow fare I had expected but I was very pleasantly surprised.  The recipes for the most part seem like I would be able to accomplish them, make them ahead and there are only a few that use ingredients I would consider out of my price range for a get together.

Many of the recipes will be able to be adapted to fit the new diet that my husband and I have begun which is also a very happy discovery.  I can cut the salt and swap lower fat dairy products in for many of the recipes without sacrificing flavor since they have lots of seasoning and are made with fresh ingredients.  There are vegetable dips and a spring rolls recipe that I can’t wait to try. Martha Stewart has proven her food to be approachable, fun and delicious with this latest book.

I’d like to thank the kind folks at Blogging For Books for providing me with this copy for review – it is the beginning of something delicious!

MbNLogoSm

Leave a comment