Book Review: The New American Herbal by Stephen Orr

Hello again, savvy savers! Today finds us with a new book review, and this time its The New American Herbal, by Stephen Orr.

 The New American Herbal  by Stephen Orr, is a rich, sublime cultural herbal knowledge through the internet and increased globalization in recent decades that has expanded the world of herbs that are available in common grocery stores and herbal shops in North America.

The Herbal Handbook also covers other useful topics in a few paragraphs and bullet points, which I found a bit disappointing, as I was hoping for something a bit more in-depth. There’s short sections on harvesting times, propagation, preserving, and preparation methods. There are recipes for spice blends, tea blends and how to make them, edible salad herbs, and I enjoyed them, but I feel like they are too short.

As far as style and voice go, I feel as if this is two different books – one a well-researched, comprehensive herbal, and the other half a fancy cooking magazine. While this is a wonderful book, I feel like the magazine style spread takes away from its usefulness and accessibility. I would rather there be less full page images and more in-depth descriptions of the techniques provided. It feels odd to say, but I would prefer that the herbal be a bit more dry rather than presenting the herbal descriptions in a conversational tone.

This is an excellent home edition! To find out more about this book, click here!

Enjoy,

images-21

In compliance with FTC regulation, I hereby disclaim that I received a free copy of the book from Book Look Bloggers, in exchange for my review. I was not compensated for this review. All opinions of this book, its author, and publisher, are that of my own.

Leave a Reply

