Book Review: North: The New Nordic Cuisine of Iceland by Gunnar Gíslason & Jody Eddy

Hello again, savvy savers! Today finds us with another interesting book review, and this time its the cook book, North: The New Nordic Cuisine of Iceland, by Gunnar Gíslason & Jody Eddy. To begin, let me just say how interesting a cook book this is! This book, depicts the glamorous, visually appealing side of the foods of Iceland. More than just recipes, this book includes essays, interviews, and anecdote from major Icelandic food producers, the same growers who produce the exotic ingredients used to make these dishes possible.
As many of my readers may know, my husband and I are complete foodies, but the food displayed in this book was new and foreign terrain for us both, but the book so flawlessly incorporated informative, glamorous photos, and excellent cooking step-by-step guides, that I am excited to try several dishes this coming holiday season. I can definitely say I am excited to experience my own version of Icelandic fare.
The best part of this book is its stunning photography. The included shots of native people, landscapes, ecosystems, already prepared dishes, and ingredients are equally provoking. The recipes are somewhat complex, but each technique and recipe is well explained and elaborated.
Several examples of the dishes in the text are:

  • Rapeseed Oil Cake
  • Cider Apples
  • Buttermilk Ice Cream with Pine Tree Oil
  • Blue Mussel Soup
  • Dry-Aged Beef
  • Celery Root Salad, and Mushroom Aioli and Fried Goose Breast
  • Celery Root Two Ways, & Parsley with Dill Oil.

 

In all, this book is aimed to impress, and does not fall short of the intent. I would highly recommend this edition for experienced cooks, but will remain in my personal kitchen library.

To find out more about this book, click here!

Enjoy,

Misty

In compliance with FTC regulation, I hereby disclaim that I received a free copy of the book from Blogging For Books, in exchange for my review. I was not compensated for this review. All opinions of this book, its author, and publisher, are that of my own.

Leave a Reply

